Watch Hill Lighthouse
The Watch Hill Lighthouse, located on a peninsula in southeastern Rhode Island, is managed by the Watch Hill Lighthouse Keepers Association under a mandate from the United States Coast Guard. The mission of the Association is to preserve and protect this historical landmark. The Lighthouse can be accessed by foot via a private road and is open from 8AM to sunset throughout the year.
Flying Horse Carousel
It is believed that the Watch Hill Carousel was made in 1867 by Andrew Christian and the Charles W.F. Dare Co. of New York City. Legend has it that a traveling carnival brought the carousel to Watch Hill in 1883 and for some unknown reason abandoned it.
It is said to be the oldest continuously operating carousel in the United States! This treasure has survived disasters for over 135 years including the 1938 Hurricane’s devastating affects on Watch Hill, Rhode Island.
Today, it carries on and thrives as a much loved summer tradition for children and their families.
Looking for the latest styles in hoop skirts and haberdashery? Stroll through our recreated seaport village! The buildings you see aren’t replications. They’re trade shops and businesses from the 1800s that were transported to Mystic Seaport Museum from locations around New England. The Seaport Village is made up of many bustling maritime trades. From shipsmiths and coopers to woodcarvers and riggers, discover how America’s maritime past shaped life today.
Gilbert Stuart Museum
Take a step back in time. Visit the authentically restored and furnished 1750 home of the Stuart family and learn about the life of one of America’s best-known portraitists, Gilbert Stuart.
Babcock-Smith House Museum
The Georgian Mansion is the former home of the Babcocks and Smiths. The mansion is elegantly furnished with pieces reflecting the Colonial Babcock years, the Victorian Smith years, and colonial restoration of 1928. Historians and antique-lovers alike will enjoy all the museum has to offer!
Museum House Tours and Granite Exhibit Hours:
May 26 through October 31: Sat 2:00-5:00 pm
July and August: Thurs, Fri, Sat & Sun 2:00-5:00 pm
By appointment: (401) 596-5704 or (401) 322-824